November in the Garden

When do you think this picture was taken?  July?  August?  Nope.  Yesterday!  I haven’t really been out to my garden since we started getting frost regularly.  It has been frosting for at least a month and we’ve had a smattering of snow in our mountain valley.  From my kitchen window I could tell there were still some perky greens remaining but when I finally got out there I was amazed at how much was still sitting happily in the ground–bok choy and turnips (pictured above), the last of kale, chard and collard greens and a scattering of late baby beets and carrots.  Oh, and my parsley, sage, oregano and mints are happy as ever.  The pea plants had finally gone by the way side, although I know they stood up to some frost.

I wonder what other vegetables would still be doing fine in the garden right now?  Definitely winter squash and pumpkins.  Maybe onions, parsnips, jerusalem artichokes, rutabaga?  Potatoes, too.

Anyway, I like planting late, frost-tolerant crops like these because 1) I don’t have to find a place to store them in my house, 2) they sit in the garden, content, while I run around frantically trying to get all my wimpy, frost-sensitive tomatoes and peppers picked and processed (canned, dried, frozen) in early fall, and 3) once the farmer’s market has ended and the local grocery stores are only carrying vegetables from far-away places like California, I’ve still got a supply of fresh, local vegetables.  And that is the best of all.

This entry was posted in Food Preservation, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to November in the Garden

  1. marcoda says:

    Matt was shocked when he took the dog out the other night and checked the garden, just to see how desolate it had become since the snow and found cauliflower looking the healthiest it’s ever looked. “I guess that’s why they call it Winter Blend, huh?” he said. Took me awhile to realize he was talking about the frozen vegetable mix at the grocery store 🙂

  2. Oohhh, I’ve never tried growing cauliflower before. That reminds me, brussel sprouts also do well in cool, fall weather. But I don’t think broccoli is quite so hardy, even though it is in the same family as cauliflower and brussel sprouts.

Leave a Reply

