Green Bean Casserole

Green bean casserole with roast and homemade bread

This is one of my all time favorite Holiday Treats, Green Bean Casserole!  It’s quick, easy and amazingly complex in flavors, if you make the whole thing from scratch.  Here’s how I like to do it.

Take enough Green Beans to fill a deep 9-inch casserole dish and cut them into 1-1.5 inch segments (if you want to make a 9×13 baking dish double this recipe).  Blanch the Green Beans.

In case you aren’t familiar with Blanching, bring salted water to a rapid boil.  While you’re waiting for the water to boil, get a large bowl of ICE WATER.  The ice is very, very important.  Add the beans to the boiling water, cook for 2-3 minutes or until the beans become bright green but still crunchy.  Take the beans out of the water and immediately put them into the ice water.  This halts the cooking process and freezes the color of the beans at a vivid green.  From here you can proceed to cook them in a casserole without them turning into army green mush!  (Special Note:  The beans in the picture came out of our garden this year and we blanched them and froze them.  The bright green beans are actual green beans, the off green ones were bright purple before we blanched them.)

Put the Beans into a bowl and cover them with a batch of Cream Of Mushroom Soup.  Mix them thoroughly and put into the casserole dish.  Cover and put into a 350 degree oven until the soup starts to bubble.  Cover with crisp fried onions and put in for about 10 more minutes.

This year I tried something different for the topping and it turned out amazing!  I took two small onions and sliced them as thin as I could.  I separated the slices into individual rings and soaked them in buttermilk.  I then took 1.5 cups of Buckwheat flour, 1/2 cup All Purpose flour, 1 T salt, 1 T pepper, 2 T Creole Seasoning and mixed them thoroughly.  Then I took the onions out of the buttermilk, put them into the flour and tossed them until all the onions were well coated.  I then fried them in our fryer at about 340 until they were crisp and delicious.  The main trick with these babies is not eating all of them before you get the chance to put them on the casserole!

About blaberuscraniifer

I am a mad bastard of a writer/chef who lives. I like to run around the mountains with my elderly canine, crawl around after my insano-cute demon spawn, cook amazing food and write good stories. I also enjoy gardening, long walks on the beach and making sweet love to my beautiful wife who is much, much smarter than you.
This entry was posted in Americana, Fall & Winter Recipes, Holidays, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Green Bean Casserole

  1. Laura says:

    Mmmm…..I can taste it now! I’m going to do that topping also~as I’ve never been crazy on those canned french onions. Also, a little cooked bacon & some chopped water chestnuts add a nice flavor too! = )

Leave a Reply

