Blue Sage Cornbread Stuffing

Blue Sage Cornbread Stuffing

I love stuffing, I love how versatile it is.  All stuffing (or dressing) requires is some sort of bread soaked in some sort of liquid until wet and then bake it until the top is crisp again.  It can be anything from bread crumbs and wild rice to a crusty black rye.  It can be soaked in anything from heavy cream to vegetable stock, or even just seasoned water.  It can be smooth like mashed potatoes, or crusty and moist like a good bread pudding.  You can add whatever vegetables you want, whatever seasoning you want and as long as you balance flavors, it will probably work.

This is one of my favorite stuffings.  It adds unexpected color to an  otherwise standard stuffing.  You can use whatever your favorite cornbread recipe is.  I like the Southern Style Cornbread from the Joy of Cooking.  I use Blue Cornmeal instead of yellow, and sometimes I like to throw in a little Buckwheat flour just for fun.  I’ve also made this recipe using Jiffy mix and it turned out fine.  Anyhoo- Here’s the recipe!

1 batch of Cornbread

2 small onions

3 cloves garlic

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. pepper

3 T rubbed sage

2 tsp. gumbo file

2 eggs

1 1/2 cups veg stock.

1 lb. browned sausage (optional)

Sweat the onions and garlic until tender (you can saute them up with the sausage).  Cube the corn bread.  I find how large I dice the cornbread depends on what kind of stuffing I’m in the mood for.  Small cubes provide a wetter, softer stuffing while larger dice give you more texture and even a little crunch on top where the bread gets good and toasty.  Either way, toss the cornbread in a bowl with the onions, garlic, herbs and spices.  Beat the eggs and the stock together and toss into the bread.  Put in a greased casserole dish and let it sit for a while (10 – 45 minutes depending on your patience level.)  Then bake at 350 for 25 – 40 minutes.  One of my favorite things about this stuffing is the way it makes my house smell by the time it’s done.  The smell of sage and roasted corn permeate the house to let everyone know it’s time to eat.

About blaberuscraniifer

I am a mad bastard of a writer/chef who lives. I like to run around the mountains with my elderly canine, crawl around after my insano-cute demon spawn, cook amazing food and write good stories. I also enjoy gardening, long walks on the beach and making sweet love to my beautiful wife who is much, much smarter than you.
This entry was posted in Americana, Fall & Winter Recipes, Holidays, Meat, Vegetarian and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue Sage Cornbread Stuffing

  1. Babygirl says:

    Wonderful recipe.. very yummy

Leave a Reply

